Outrigger Duke Kahanamoku Foundation Grants 1,000th Scholarship

Duke’s Night 2020 tribute goes virtual, celebrating local scholar athletes and granting nearly $55,000 in scholarship funds ‍

April 9, 2021

For Immediate Release

Outrigger Duke Kahanamoku Foundation Grants 1,000th Scholarship

Duke’s Night 2020 tribute goes virtual, celebrating local scholar athletes and granting nearly $55,000 in scholarship funds

HONOLULU (June 2, 2020) Duke’s Night is an annual celebration put on by Outrigger Duke Kanahamoku Foundation (ODKF) to honor Hawaii’s future leaders and provide financial scholarships to deserving high school seniors and returning undergraduates. While the live festivities had to be cancelled due to theCOVID-19 pandemic, ODKF still granted nearly $55,000 in scholarships and launched “Duke’s Night Online”to coincide with high school graduation season and to provide a lasting memory for the young scholar athletes.

Bringing together students and their community, the virtual event celebrates all 28 scholarship recipients from across the Hawaiian Islands and showcases the top three Duke Award Scholarship recipients of 2020.The video also features advice for the scholars from Hawaii Waterman Hall of Fame members: DuaneDeSoto, Kai Lenny, Robby Naish, Tracy Phillips Darling and Kalani Vierra.

The Duke Award recognizes exceptional Hawaii high school seniors who exemplify the character and values of Duke Kahanamoku. Duke’s Night 2020, with headline sponsorship by Hawaii Pacific Health can be viewed today at

The three Duke Award winners include:

  • Victoria "Tori" Gacutan - attends Punahou School and has played for the Rosebowl Water PoloTeam based in Pasadena, California, since 2017. She was selected for the USA National TeamSelection Camp (ODP) in 2015 and 2017. She was Varsity Water Polo State and ILH Champion in2017, 2018, and 2019. As a varsity swimmer, she was the 100 Yard Butterfly ILH Champion andBronze in HHSAA States. She's also an accomplished paddler, having finished the prestigious NāWahine O Ke Kai race, among others. Tori is a National Honor Society member, school yearbook editor, and volunteers as a new student tour guide for Punahou. She plans to pursue a law degree in the future.
  • Makena Ginoza - is the elected student government Vice President at the University LaboratorySchool and an active participant with the yearbook, the ULS Global Leadership class, and the Social-Emotional Learning Initiative. He is also 1st chair trombone. As a school leader, he has implemented multiple initiatives at his school including a kindness initiative, a food drive, and a toy drive.
  • Makena is a decorated competitive swimmer with the Kamehameha Swim Club and the Varsity Pac-Five Swim & Dive Team. He is also the Senior Athlete Representative for Hawaiian Swimming and aUSA Swimming Athlete Representative and Delegate, as well as a Jr. Lifeguard. He also enjoys surfing and serving in the New Hope Hawaii Kai Men's Ministry.
  • Dillyn Lietzke - is active with Nā Kelamoku, the junior division of the Polynesian Voyaging Society, and also volunteers with Wānana Paoa, an organization that builds community through indigenous education. Dillyn envisioned, implemented and accomplished a long-term goal of building a wa'akaulua for her school, Punahou. She is on the Varsity Water Polo Team and was selected for theOlympic Development Program. She also participated in the swimming and paddling club teams; she is justifiably proud of completing the Nā Wahine o Ke Kai race across the Kaʻiwi Channel. Shehas also developed a lei making business - seeded from her love for the craft. She will attend theUniversity of Hawaiʻi at Mānoa to major in Oceanography and continue Hawaiian Studies. She wants to protect our ʻāina and oceans and inspire others to do the same.

ALL 2020 ODKF SCHOLARSHIP RECIPIENTS BY ISLAND // Click HERE to download recipient headshot.


Sarah Blichfeldt

Kahanu Cuban

Kalachandji Diaz

Zoey Fox

Victoria Gacutan

Micah Ginoza

Makena Ginoza

Maya Hamaoka

Mancy Huynh

Dillyn Lietzke

Kai Lippert

Mika O'Shea

Megan Okuma

Kai Phung

Mariko Quinn

Paulina Ruelas

Olivia Stoetzer

Shea Suzumoto


Madeline Hoesel

Big Island

Brock Imonen


Kawohikukapulani Duvauchelle

Ayla-Rose Naehu-Ramos


Elena Borge

Aniston Eyre

Nalu Ho
Kobe Lilio
Ian Martins

Logan Spencer

The mission of Outrigger Duke Kahanamoku Foundation is to financially support the development of theindividuals and organizations which perpetuate the spirit and legacy of Duke Kahanamoku – Hawaii’sesteemed global ambassador of aloha. With active stewardship from generous donors and the watermancommunity – ODKF has gifted more than $3 million in grants and scholarships since its inception in 1986. In2020, the foundation will have granted 1007 scholarships to high school seniors and undergraduates. AsHawaii’s young scholars strive to meet the rising cost of higher education, Outrigger Duke KahanamokuFoundation (ODKF) aims to provide the necessary support for its recipients to achieve their education goals.

Scholarship applications for the 2021-2022 school year will open at inSeptember.

Media Contact:

Monica Salter, ODKF Board Member

Mobile: 808-386-6780

For more information, visit or email

Press Releases

Back to News

blue arrow pointing to the right